Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » The Lighter Side » Geeks Corner




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 9:14 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:50 pm
Posts: 217
Location: S.W. London
Hi folks,

Having some issues with my computer, it was working fine on sunday morning a bit of routine photoshopping etc etc, didn't install any new software.

later on that day, i attempted to turn it on again, the fans start up as normal, it whirrs for a bit, but instead of the computer coming to life it just shut down again!

The weirdest bit is that if i leave it connected to the power, it keeps cycling through the bit i wrote above, over and over again! so to get it to stop i've had to pull out the mains cable.

I've pulled out and re-inserted the graphics card and RAM, tried starting it without being connected to the card reader, DVD drive, spare hard drive, but to no avail.

I'm thinking that the 'on' switch is locked open (hence it keeps trying to boot up then forcing shut down), but i'd be stupid not to ask if anyone else has any ideas!

Your suggestions would be appreciated.
Many thanks
John


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:44 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 7:32 pm
Posts: 362
Location: doncaster
have you tried starting in "safe mode". when you start up press "esc" straight away. (i usually keep tapping it) a menu should come up with the option to start in safe mode. in safe mode mode you can run virus software, system diagnostics etc. also if "esc" doesn't give this option try "f8". Alternatively do you have recovery discs. i had a similsr problem with a previous laptop which would start from the discs i made when new. good luck.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2011 12:01 pm 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:50 pm
Posts: 217
Location: S.W. London
i'll give it a go, but i don't even get any visual output from the machine before it cuts off. I have no recovery discs unfortunately.

Cheers
John


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:35 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:50 pm
Posts: 217
Location: S.W. London
although i would imagine no-one is particularly interested, i thought i round off the thread!

as it turns out, something in the PCIe slot done gone and got broke, don't know what. It appeared that upon replacing the graphics card with a much older one, running on x1, it could boot up, but refused to accept x16 with my newer one.

by pure coincidence, i know someone who knows someone who was chucking a model of similar age (marginally better processor) out, so i nabbed it.

after a few teething troubles (missing drivers, network adapters, couple of blue screens and some pieces of software using 'computer language' to say WHAT THE F**K WHAT THE F**K WHAT THE F**K WHAT THE F**K ) it seem to run.

Still need to iron a few things out (blue screens occur infrequently), but it seemed to be the PCI slot interface that went bust, weird. So my hard drive, graphics card and a few bits of my RAM live to fight another day!

Jonboy :)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 12:48 pm 
Offline
Needs to get out more!
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:45 pm
Posts: 1368
Location: Worcestershire
Probably a blown capacitor on the motherboard - Good thing with desktop/tower PC's is you can swap bits over relatively easily. :thumbup

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:07 pm 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:50 pm
Posts: 217
Location: S.W. London
Quote:
swap bits over relatively easily


indeed, although the PC they are now in, is in considerably poorer aesthetic condition! Beggers can't be choosers :)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:42 pm 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:18 pm
Posts: 109
Incredidibly late i know but......

Its looking to be your power supply. By swopping your card for an older one, it's needed less voltage/amps to start. Replace as soon as. Can you borrow one from a friend to test? Try not to use it too much, if the PSU dies, it can take the rest of your pc with it!!

Go here [link2]http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp[/link2] fill in the boxes and then go to [link2]http://www.scan.co.uk/[/link2].

Do not buy the cheapest one, it's false economy and won't last. Spend what you can afford, but make sure it's a quality one as it will have enough amps on the 12v rail for your card.

All the best.

_________________
Some days you're a Pigeon...Some days you're a Statue


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:03 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:50 pm
Posts: 217
Location: S.W. London
Thanks for the advice, i tried swapping out the power supply, but no joy.

No blue-screens-of-death last night though, so the new setup appears to be running!


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » The Lighter Side » Geeks Corner


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: