Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Hornet 250 » Consumables




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 6:50 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:43 am
Posts: 186
power1 or power1 GPS ? which one ?

and KANE would u plz tell me the place that u bought ur oil filter and if u have any contact number let me know it..

and thnx Saajid :)

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:49 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
Thenura wrote:
power1 or power1 GPS ? which one ?

and KANE would u plz tell me the place that u bought ur oil filter and if u have any contact number let me know it..

and thnx Saajid :)


My bottles have only Power1 Mark but they are Part-Synthetic. when you buy Oil, check for semi/part Synthetic or Fully Synthetic
that matters

p.s. We are using Castrol Power1 Part Synthetic


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:50 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:43 am
Posts: 186
machan how many KMs u did wit magnetic part synth...?

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:00 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
i changed it after 3000Km(1st time) but after knowing it CAR OIL :Bang i changed it ASAP


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 9:16 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:25 am
Posts: 144
Location: pilipinas
dont use car oil to save money, i even have some friends who use motorcycle oil to their car because motorcycle oil contains more additive to protect the engine


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 1:56 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
reiluke wrote:
dont use car oil to save money, i even have some friends who use motorcycle oil to their car because motorcycle oil contains more additive to protect the engine

no, Magnatec is expensive than Power1(considering Both Semi-Synthetic)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:23 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:43 am
Posts: 186
Are u sure that Castrol Power1 will be available in future ? i heard that AMW in going to discontinue it

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:46 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:01 pm
Posts: 387
Location: Colombo
yup.... The business development manager told me.. .i met him personally.

anyway he also said they will keep getting it down only if there is a demand for it.... So why not start with asking your friends to use the oil... More demand equals they keep getting it down!

_________________
***Motorcycles have a SOUL..... and to create them is a work of pure Passion
~ MV Augusta~

98 Hornet


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 7:41 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:43 am
Posts: 186
Changed my Engine oil to Castrol Mineral 4T 20w40... gear shifting became smooth .. sounds reduced when shifting.. and didnt test the tempurature change with the new oil yet.. i changed the oil with the oil filter and it was a MEIWA one.. LKR750 ..and changed the coolant also .. it was the WURTH coolant. and mixed a little bit of distilled water. i flushed the coolant with distilled water but i dont think it will make a change because, distilled water cannot clean anything AFAIK. we need to add the suitable chemical to clean the cooling system. and i can see some coolant leaks from that nickel pipes with o rings near carbs . but didnt fixed them . the thing is i can see the leaks in the morning. when im riding it doesnt leak the coolant.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 9:40 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:01 pm
Posts: 387
Location: Colombo
Thenura wrote:
Changed my Engine oil to Castrol Mineral 4T 20w40... gear shifting became smooth .. sounds reduced when shifting.. and didnt test the tempurature change with the new oil yet.. i changed the oil with the oil filter and it was a MEIWA one.. LKR750 ..and changed the coolant also .. it was the WURTH coolant. and mixed a little bit of distilled water. i flushed the coolant with distilled water but i dont think it will make a change because, distilled water cannot clean anything AFAIK. we need to add the suitable chemical to clean the cooling system. and i can see some coolant leaks from that nickel pipes with o rings near carbs . but didnt fixed them . the thing is i can see the leaks in the morning. when im riding it doesnt leak the coolant.



Coolant leaking??? :Bad ..... thats baaaaadd!!! fix it!

_________________
***Motorcycles have a SOUL..... and to create them is a work of pure Passion
~ MV Augusta~

98 Hornet


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:42 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
ok it's almost 21,000 kilometers on the meter so it's time to oil change
i think 4,000 Kilometers with Castrol Power1 Semi-Synthetic is enough?! 8o i am going to buy Synthetic (again) :rollin hope i won't get any trouble like Motul 300v did to me :cry

this time Castrol Power1 Racing Synthetic :Lick and check whether they will give exact power increase just like in Youtube Videos :p
Wish me luck :Pray

i might change
Air Filter
Plugs are fine
Oil filter definitely


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 3:04 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
Service Done
Kilometers on the Meter - 20,751Kms

Oil Changed - Castrol Power1 4T 10w/40
Oil Filter Changed - MEIWA Japan
Air Filter Changed - Honda genuine HMKL8-LF
Chain Cleaned and Lubed

Other
Bought Motul Chain Clean and Motul Chain Lube/Road

Pic
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:54 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:43 am
Posts: 186
ahh .. Power1.. why do u use different oils at each oil change ? is it OK?

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Dec 25, 2011 11:28 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
Nope last one also same as this Power1 4T = GPS, Part Synthetic :Lick

right here
KANE wrote:
Update:
Castrol Power1 now inside my babe
Image

Gear change is smooth now just like i had magnatec in it :)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:52 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior

Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:43 am
Posts: 186
price of a bottle ?and can i use this oil for about 5000km ?

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:32 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:01 pm
Posts: 387
Location: Colombo
Thenura wrote:
price of a bottle ?and can i use this oil for about 5000km ?


Yes you can... mine is due to be changed soon... ive done 5k Km and it still runs smooth...

_________________
***Motorcycles have a SOUL..... and to create them is a work of pure Passion
~ MV Augusta~

98 Hornet


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 3:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Sri Lanka
Can I please know a place to buy castrol power 1 in Sri lanka ?
I checked everywhere including AMW they don't have it. Please my service is coming up in lile 50 km


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 3:51 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
JeStEr wrote:
Can I please know a place to buy castrol power 1 in Sri lanka ?
I checked everywhere including AMW they don't have it. Please my service is coming up in lile 50 km

10w40 might be thinner than 20w40. since it's not available i'd buy Castrol 20w40



if not..
Use whatever 20w40 Oil, it's good for hotter climates like in SL
Remember to Change Oil after every 2500Kms


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:53 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Sri Lanka
I used mobil super 4t
20w50


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2013 3:16 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
20w40 is more than enough for engines under 100k KMs
people even use 10w40.. but for hotter countries 20w40 is good and available in every shop


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:08 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
Update:
Oil Changed: 30,000Kms on Clocks
Oil Brand: Motul
Type: 10w40 100% SYNTHESE
Oil Changed with Brand new Oil Filter

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 22, 2015 3:13 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
Update:
Oil Changed: 38500Kms
Oil: Motul 10w40 Fully Synthetic
Filter Changed: No

the thing is i have used Genuine Oil Filter with O Rings which is just 3500Km Used. i have bought a another Genuine Filter but i couldn't remove previous one because Nut got round :cry

any idea how to get my filter out??? :Pray


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:19 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 577
Location: Kaohsiung, Taiwan
KANE wrote:
... i couldn't remove previous one because Nut got round :cry
any idea how to get my filter out??? :Pray

I guess you have most likely used an adjustable wrench previously?! These horrible things tend to make nuts round when used with much force.
Any chance to get a proper socket wrench? This should allow much more force to be transferred onto the nut from all sides equally. Hopefully this would still fit onto the nut.

_________________
Image
A redline a day keeps carbon away.

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:45 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
Borschtsch wrote:
KANE wrote:
... i couldn't remove previous one because Nut got round :cry
any idea how to get my filter out??? :Pray

I guess you have most likely used an adjustable wrench previously?! These horrible things tend to make nuts round when used with much force.
Any chance to get a proper socket wrench? This should allow much more force to be transferred onto the nut from all sides equally. Hopefully this would still fit onto the nut.


no luck, i used a box before.. its not 100% round just like less than 30.. but can't get it open
someone suggested to weld a bigger nut and remove??? :notme


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 10:32 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 577
Location: Kaohsiung, Taiwan
KANE wrote:
someone suggested to weld a bigger nut and remove??? :notme

Yes, that's what I remember seeing here on the forum somewhere...
Give it a try!

_________________
Image
A redline a day keeps carbon away.

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 3:43 pm 
Offline
Hornet Warrior

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:50 pm
Posts: 163
Location: Switzerland
Try using your hands if not too tight - else use one of the tools which have a strap.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu May 07, 2015 10:07 am 
Offline
Hornet Baby
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:56 am
Posts: 23
Location: Colombo, Sri Lanka
use a Six-sided wrench. thats how i did it. my oil nut also a lil bit rounded.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu May 07, 2015 10:41 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 1:13 pm
Posts: 577
Location: Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Godwin wrote:
Try using your hands if not too tight - else use one of the tools which have a strap.

Both of these suggestions would not work on a Hornet 250, as it has no "external" oil filter cartridge.
A suitable socket or ring wrench would be a better suggestion.

_________________
Image
A redline a day keeps carbon away.

Image


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:56 am 
Offline
Hornet Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 4:15 am
Posts: 474
Location: Sri Lanka
Somehow i got it open :ahhdiddums

Update: 2015/11/01
Oil Changed: 42000Kms
Oil: Motul 10w40 Fully Synthetic
Filter Changed: Genuine

Today,11/27
i had to change my Rectifier because there was a little misfire. i checked plugs they were fine. my bat. is just a week old so i removed rectifier, and checked it with a multimeter and spotted a blown diode?!
immediately changed it

Pics Later :hat


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Board index » Hornet 250 » Consumables


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: